Skip to content

Star-studded entry list confirmed for Goodwood Revival Mini Cooper race

Words: Elliott Hughes | Photography: Goodwood Revival

The Goodwood Revival has announced the 30-car entry list for the Sir John Whitmore Trophy – a Mini Cooper race named after the driver who won the 1961 British Saloon Car Championship in a Mini.

Described by Goodwood as “one of our most illustrious-ever grids”, the entry list boasts nine Le Mans 24 Hours winners and three class winners of the iconic French endurance race. There are also six World Endurance champions, two British GT champions, two World Touring Car champions and four former Formula 1 drivers.

Several of the names attached to these impressive accolades include Martin Brundle and son Alex, Karun Chandhok, André Lotterer, Jean-Éric Vergne, Brendon Hartley, Jochen Mass, David Brabham, Romain Dumas and Emanuele Pirro.

Olympic cycling legend and former Le Mans driver Sir Chris Hoy is another famous entrant. As well as competing in the Mini Cooper race, Hoy will lead hundreds of cyclists on a special Sunday ride to celebrate the Eroica Britannia UK vintage cycling festival’s relocation to Goodwood from 2022.

Brian Johnson of AC/DC fame is another household name who will take on the challenge of the two-driver 45-minute race on September 18. Meanwhile, Jenson Button is confirmed to make his Revival debut this year in a Jaguar E-type and AC Cobra with teammate Alex Buncombe.

The Goodwood Revival returns following the Festival of Speed’s successful running as a Government pilot event in July, after the cancellation of both events in 2020 due to the pandemic.

If you liked this, then why not subscribe to Magneto magazine today?

Get Magneto Magazine straight from publication to your door with a subscription.

2 Year Subscription £84 1 Year Subscription £48